Goodbye Florida #1: Dinky Dock

23 04 2009


So… I’m planning on moving away from Florida, back to Michigan. Sometimes I’m excited about it, but I’m also really sad about it. There are many things about my life here that I really love, and it is going to be hard for me to leave them. I think I want to spend the next couple months of this page to acknowledge the things that I love about my life here.
Let’s start with this (because I already have a picture). This is Dinky Dock. (That’s the actual name.) It’s a tiny little park/beach about 20 minutes from where I now live. I’ve spent many hours siting on the end of this dock: thinking, being quiet, and connecting with myself and with God. Usually I do this at night (illegally of course, because parks are always “closed” after sunset. I’ve only gotten kicked out by the cops once.). I’ve experimented with meditation a little bit over the past 4 years, and this has been my most common meditation spot. I’ve looked at the stars, and watched the waves on the water slowly turn to ripples, and then to glass. I’ve noticed the phases of the moon. I once encountered an owl that let me get within 3 feet of it, and still didn’t fly away. I also may have gone number one off the end of the dock a few times. Maybe.
I am a different person because of you, Dinky Dock.

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 04 2009
my name is karen.

“gone number one”… oh tim… i’m excited to read more of your blog
πŸ™‚

27 04 2009
Mike H.

As am I

And, you know, the whole moving back to Michigan thing too πŸ™‚

28 04 2009
Scott D

Tim, I had my own dock for about two years, and it was a very precious place for me too. It was during a rough season of my life in Florida… I went out to the end of the dock around 11 almost every night to breath in the night air off the lake, look at the moon, think, ponder, pray, cry.

When we purchased a house and moved to another part of town, losing the dock was a huge loss for my life – one I haven’t really recovered yet. I could pray there in a way that I find difficult anywhere else.

I hope to find another place of meditation… thanks for the reminder to actively look for such a place.

Scott

Leave a Reply

