“Drink deeply from the well of things as they are”

21 03 2010

Well, I know it’s been a bit of time since I’ve posted.  So let me tell you a little about that.

First, as I mentioned in my last post, I spent a week down in South Carolina co-leading a spring break trip with 30 college students in New Life Church.  The theme of the trip was, “Freedom for the broken: Healing from past wounds”.

That's us, down in Myrtle Beach

The trip was incredible!  And it was beautiful to take the time to engage deeply with people and walk with them in the midst of the difficult places in their lives.

Talking about matters of the heart and healing is one thing, but actually getting to step into it is the real deal.  It was a phenomenal time, and I was incredibly blessed by it!

At the same time… I did do quite a bit of talking during this trip as well.  I spent a lot of time teaching and leading.  So by the time the trip was over, I was a bit sick of the sound of my own thoughts and ideas rattling around in my brain.  I’ve been resting up.

So, that explains my recent blogging hiatus.  But I’m ready to be back!

So… first of all, take this as a blog post about the fact that talking and reading about relationships, emotions, and healing isn’t any kind of substitute for actually living them out.

Second: I’ll get things started by sharing a little piece of poetry with you that I love.  This is David Whyte, from his “Poetry of Self-Compassion” cd.  (Which you can and should buy here.)

I shared a number of David Whyte excerpts in my teachings on the Spring Break trip.  Beautiful stuff.  Listen and let it touch you.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 03 2010
Mikey Filicicchia

Is David Whyte actually a Michigan Persian? Or was that someone else? Also, who are those FINE-LOOKING PEOPLE in the front row of that South Carolina picture? Sounds like you have a real tough job, Tim….real tough.

23 03 2010
Tim Courtois

Michigan Persian? Well, he’s British, so I’m guessing no. 🙂

Leave a Reply

