Visiting a Former War Zone

29 09 2010

I just got back from a trip out of the country, and wanted to share some of what I saw there.

If you’re like I was before this trip, the word “Balkans” calls up in your mind a fuzzy image of an undefined portion of Eastern Europe, and thinking about it quickly raises the question, “Aren’t they at war or something?”.

Actually, they were at war in the early 90’s, but things are pretty peaceful now.  (As peaceful as a place 15 years removed from genocide can really be, anyway.)  Now that I’ve spent a couple weeks there, the places feel a lot more real to me.  I know that the memories of war are sad, but that this area contains cities that are treasures of the world, and some of the most beautiful places I’ve seen.

So I put together a video/slideshow to share some of what I saw there.  Enjoy.

(Here’s the video, but I recommend going straight to youtube & watching the HD version in fullscreen, because some of these pictures are just gorgeous.)

“All the houses hide so much

But in the half light

None of us can tell

They hide the ocean in a shell…”

(Arcade Fire, from the song “Half Light I” from “The Suburbs”)

Click to follow my posts on Twitter.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 10 2010
Meghan

Beautiful. I made sure to track down your facebook photos as well.

14 10 2010
Jay

Great Video Bro! Thanks for sharing what you got to see first hand. Very impacting.

Leave a Reply

