The Goal of Counseling

14 04 2011

The goal of counseling is not happiness.

But a primary goal of counseling is ALIVENESS.

 

I find this picture to be a striking image that resonates with my idea of the difference between "aliveness" and numbness; but I'm not presenting it as a scientifically accurate rendering of anything. I just found it on some webpage that I don't know anything about and found it striking. (Click for source.)

In a world that contains both beauty and horror in immeasurable amounts, a living heart must freely allow occasional – or even frequent – visitations of grief.  In such a world, unceasing “happiness” can only be attained through a deadening of the soul to pain.  Such “happiness” is not truly happiness at all, for it is actually numbness; it is death in disguise.

If a part of your heart has been cut off from life, then it has also been cut off from God.  Will you invite him to resurrect the dead places in your heart?

“For the grave cannot praise you, death cannot sing your praise…  The living, the living – they praise you, as I am doing today.” (Isaiah 38:18-19)

“I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.” (John 10:10b)

“The heart of the wise is in the house of mourning…” (Ecclesiastes 7:4a)

“Then I passed by and saw you kicking about in your blood, and as you lay there in your blood I said to you, ‘Live!” (Ezekiel 16:6)

Actions

Information

One response

24 04 2011
Troy

This reminds me of the song The View by Modest Mouse (http://www.sing365.com/music/lyric.nsf/The-View-lyrics-Modest-Mouse/80D3C0D8F74ED04048256E6B002C05E4, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHOpmF3glak).

Especially this part of the song:

As life gets longer, awful feels softer,
and it feels pretty soft to me.
And if it takes shit to make bliss,
well I feel pretty blissfully.

If life’s not beautiful without the pain,
well I’d just rather never ever even see beauty again.
Well as life gets longer, awful feels softer.
And it feels pretty soft to me.

I can definitely see how a cynical, hopeless, stuffing reaction to pain/death can lead us to become numb. I appreciate the encouragement to be alive!

Leave a Reply

